User IDs inactive since upgrading

If you have upgrade a company file from an older version of AccountEdge, the User IDs will be automatically marked inactive because their functionality changed.

Passwords and sub-passwords are no longer used to restrict user access within a company file. Instead, you assign user privileges using the Administrator login. Passwords may be used with user IDs to sign on to AccountEdge; however, sub-passwords are no longer used.

If you're upgrading from an older version of AccountEdge or Premier Accounting, you'll have to activate your user IDs. To do this:

  1. Select the company file enter your Master password in the Password field. If you didn't use passwords, leave this field blank
  2. Select Setup from the menu bar at the top of the screen and choose Preferences from the dropdown menu
  3. Click the Security tab
  4. Click the User IDs button in the bottom left
  5. You'll notice all user IDs other than the Administrator as well as sub-passwords appear in this window and are Inactive. You won't be able to sign on as a user, other than the Administrator, until you activate the user IDs

If you used sub-passwords, you'll also see password user IDs in the User Access window. They contain the user restrictions from the sub-passwords created in the earlier version of your company file. For Example: the sub-password called SMITH in the previous version of AccountEdge will become PASSWORD#SMITH.

These password user IDs are not valid user IDs, but you can copy their access rights to newly-activated user IDs using the Copy User function. Once the user restrictions are copied to the activated user ID, you can delete the password user ID.

To activate a user in the User ID list complete the following tasks:

  1. Select Setup from the menu bar at the top of the screen and choose Preferences from the drop down menu
  2. Click the Security tab
  3. Click the User IDs button in the bottom left
  4. Select the User Id you wish to make active.
  5. Click the Edit button.
  6. Uncheck the Inactive box.
  7. Add and confirm a password.

Note: You can also choose to copy the access restrictions by using the copy Restrictions drop down menu. This is helpful if you had been using sub-passwords in earlier versions and you would like to use the same restrictions from old-passwords.