Upgrading Company File

Background

Each version of the software reads and writes company files in a specific, version-dependent format. When a new version of the software is used to open a file that was created and used with a previous version of the software the file must be upgraded to the new version format. The upgrade utility reads the data from the old file and creates a new file with the same data. The contents of the old file remain untouched. The data are unchanged; at the end of the process, both files will have the same data (e.g., same fiscal and payroll years, same records, etc.).

Upgrading Company File to New Version of AccountEdge

Before upgrading your company file it is helpful to know where your current company file is located. If you are unsure, open the version of AccountEdge that you were using previously and use the Company Data Auditor to confirm the location of your company file.

  1. Launch the new version of AccountEdge to the Welcome Screen
  2. In the lower right corner select Company File Maintenance > Upgrade Company File
  3. Click Next
  4. Click the Find File button
  5. Navigate to the folder where the company file resides, select it, and click Open
  6. By default the upgraded company file will be placed in the newly created AccountEdge Pro 20YY ** folder. Click the Save As button to indicate a different location and file name
  7. Click Next and confirm your settings
  8. Click Next to begin the upgrade process
  9. At the Congratulations window, you can click Next to select another file to upgrade, or click Finish if you are finished upgrading files
  10. When you are finished, you'll be returned to the Welcome Window, where you can Browse for your newly, upgraded company file, which will be located in your AccountEdge Pro 20YY ** folder (or wherever you chose to save it).

AccountEdge Network Edition Please Note:
For AccountEdge Network Edition - the company file will be located on the host machine under Macintosh HD > Library > Application Support > AccountEdge NE > Databases. This is where the upgraded file will have to be placed in order to be accessed by AccountEdge Network Edition

Upgrading Custom Forms to New Version of AccountEdge

Later versions of AccountEdge Pro, AccountEdge Network Edition, and AccountEdge Basic use a Support / Custom Forms folder for company files, invoice, letter and spreadsheet templates.

AccountEdge Pro 20YY has a feature called the Migration Assistant. The Migration Assistant will copy your customized forms, reports, letters and graphics from a previous version of AccountEdge or FirstEdge to the Support / Custom Forms folder of AccountEdge Pro 20YY **. If you have custom spreadsheets in your previous version, check the Copy Spreadsheets checkbox. The Migration Assistant is accessed from the AccountEdge Pro Welcome window, in the Company File Maintenance dropdown menu, which is located in the lower, right-hand corner of the Welcome window.

  1. Launch the new version of AccountEdge to the Welcome Screen
  2. In the lower right corner select Company File Maintenance > Migrate Previous Version
  3. You will see a message informing you that a folder named AccountEdge Pro 20YY ** will be created, by default, in your Documents folder. If you do not want the AccountEdge Pro 20YY ** folder located in your Documents folder, click OK, and indicate the place to create the folder.
  4. If your previous application isn't displayed, click the Browse button
  5. Navigate to the folder where your previous version of AccountEdge resides (the application with the .exe or .app extension)
  6. Click on the application, and click Open
  7. Click the Start button to begin the migration process

Screen_Shot_2019-05-15_at_9.45.29_AM.png

**If you are using the United States version this will read US, if you are using the Canadian version this will read CA, if you are on the International version this will read IN

Video on Upgrading to AccountEdge 2019

Trouble Upgrading Company File

We have additional support articles that address possible issues upgrading: