Read-only Company File
AccountEdge 2010 and later
In AccountEdge Pro (AccountEdge 2010 and later), you can mark a company file Read-only, which will prevent you from adding or updating records in the file. To mark a file Read-only, check mark Setup > Preferences > Security > Mark this company file as Read-Only. This can be undone at any time.This video has further instructions, as well as reasons why you might want to do this:
Mark Company File Read Only (Pre 2010)
In pre-2010 versions of AccountEdge (Premier Accounting, MYOB), if you select, "I want to mark this company file as Read Only," you will be unable to reverse this selection. Your selection of this option, when prompted to activate or confirm your company file, is encrypted into your company file. You may restore a backup prior to selecting permanent read-only status. You can select permanent read-only status for files from previous fiscal years, or any archived company file you no longer intend to use for entering financial transactions or changes.
Note: The process of Activating and Confirming company files is obsolete with the 2009 version of AccountEdge (Canada), and the 2010 version of AccountEdge (USA).