Restoring a Backup

Using AccountEdge Network Edition

If you are working with AccountEdge Network Edition, follow the instructions on the AccountEdge Network Edition information page.

Using AccountEdge Pro 2014, 2013 or 2012

If the backup was created with AccountEdge 2010 or later, you can restore the company file from the backup by

  • Selecting Restore from a disk or Restore from Dropbox from the Company File Maintenance menu in the lower, right-hand corner of the Welcome window
  • Navigate to the folder where the backup file is located
  • Select the file, and click Open
  • In the next window, indicate a name and location for the file you are restoring
  • Click Save
  • If the file was created with an AccountEdge version prior to 2013, you will need to upgrade the company file (see below)

Using AccountEdge 2011 or 2010

You need to have a company file or the sample company file, Widgets, open in order to restore from a backup. If the backup was created with AccountEdge 2010 or later, you can restore the company file from the backup by

  • Selecting File > Restore > Restore from a disk from the top menu bar
  • Navigate to the folder where the backup file is located
  • Select the file, and click Open
  • In the next window, indicate a name and location for the file you are restoring
  • Click Save
  • If the file was created with an AccountEdge version prior to the version you are using, you will need to upgrade the company file (see below)

Backups Created Prior to using AccountEdge 2010

If the company file backup was created with an AccountEdge version prior to 2010, the backup was saved in a Stuffit format. AccountEdge no longer uses the Stuffit format. To restore company files from Stuffit backups, you will need to get a free Stuffit expander, which is available from http://www.stuffit.com. Once the company file is restored from the backup archive, you should upgrade the file.

Upgrade a company file

If the company file within the backup was not created with the version of AccountEdge you are currently using, follow the instructions for upgrading a company file.